South Asian Association for regional co-operation (SAARC)is an economic and political organisation. It was established in 8 December 1985 ,The saarc secretarial was established in Kathmandu on 16th Jan 1987.

Their are 8 countries in saarc Bangladesh,Bhutan,India,MaldiveNapal ,Pakistan,Sri Lanka and Afghanistan.The idea of regional cooperation in South Asian was first mooted in May 1980.the foreign secretaries of 8 countries met for first time in Colombo in April 1981. This was followed by a meeting of the committee of the whole Colombo in August-september 1981,which identified 5 board areas for regional cooperation. The Integration programme of Action (IPA) initially in 5 agreed of cooperation namely Agricultural,Rural,Development,Tele Communication,Meteorology and health activities.


2 Replies to “SAARC”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s